Electrical systems

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Grandpa Tucson
    Participant

I’ve watched the Waterlust video once, and it appears the electrical system they used is not what CLC sells.  Should I study their setup more or is CLC’s just fine.  Electrical is a weak point for me.

mpilone
    Participant

I didn’t really follow the CLC electrical system at all. I have details of my system here: http://teardropforum.com/forums/topic/my-electrical-system/

For the most part it was pretty straight forward. The only tricky part was the 3-way switches I put in for control of the lights from either side of the cabin but it definitely isn’t necessary.

-mike

CWStevens
    Participant

The Waterlust electrical system was clearly designed to support boon-docking (camping for extended periods away from conventional charging hook-ups.)

As an electrical engineer, I can offer you this advice.

Step 1 – Make a list of your requirements.
    What type of camping do you want to do?
    Are you going totally rustic?  (That’s an option, you know…  Battery power lanterns are very cost effective!)
    Will you only need lights or fans?
    Stereo?  TV (if you must)? etc.
    Or will you need a heater and be able to charge your laptop while away from civilization for extended periods?

Step 2 – How long will you be away from conventional charging options?  (If you’re only taking 1 or 2 day trips, you probably won’t need a 100-200W solar charging system.)

Step 3 – Determine the power requirements in order to size the capacity of your power source(s) aka battery.

Step 4 – Determine your budget. A low-AH battery and a simple switch panel is way cheaper than a full-up solar system.  Also keep in mind, you can take a phased approach and add things later as your budget allows.

Step 5 – Design your system to meet your requirements.

I wanted the following:
    Bulkhead fans, Overhead exhaust fan
    Moveable reading lights
    Cabin lights (high and low)