Alternative Kitchens

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    wcammack
    Participant

Hi all,

As I wait out the cold season up here in Vermont, I’m starting to plan out what I want my kitchen to look like for my camper. I opted to design my own, instead of going with the galley module option provided by CLC. I’m curious what other people have done with the galley space. I’m a professional cook, so I really want to maximize the space for cooking. I do like all the storage the CLC galley module has, but I want a little more flexibility with the space for cooking. I’m thinking about constructing an additional counter that would hook onto the edge of the galley and extend outward, forming a sort of L-shaped kitchen. Other features I’m thinking I’ll include are a Coleman two burner gas stovetop, a large cutting board, and maybe a space for a water jug. Also just trying to figure out how to maximize storage space (I have lots of cooking gear like a dutch oven, emersion blender, pasta roller, etc.)…

Anyways, I’d love to see/hear what others have come up with. I’m open to any suggestions or ideas, Thanks!

wudboatVT
    Participant

@wcammack,

Wondering how your kitchen turned out. I’m in the pre-build “phase” and also considering doing something a little more custom than the CLC option. Share photos if you can.

Andrew
    Participant

Hi wcammack,

I only just saw this post so sorry for the late response – maybe some of this info might still be useful.

I think building your own kitchen is a good idea.While the CLC module looks good it is very expensive for what it is and in practice I found that the comparment sizes (e.g. the plate shelf) were too small for the camping wares that I already have and indeed a bit small for any decent sized plates anyway. I did modify mine slightly by using the space where the speakers go for a built in cutlery drawer on one side and and additional open storage area on the other.