Alaska Teardrop Build

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    burlinghamburger
    Participant

My husband surprised me today and revealed that for my birthday he’s ordering me the Teardrop kit. I’ve never worked with fiberglass before but I’m super optimistic and excited despite the fact that I’ll be working in a dark, unheated garage… in Alaska… At least by the time I get the kit it should be pretty easy to heat even just a “small” area with a space heater or two.

I plan on reading the manual at least twice before even starting to put things together but after reading through the forum I had some thoughts that I suspect may not be covered in the manual and since I’ve never done this before I really plan on following the instructions like my life depends on it.

I’ve seen some folks run out of fabric when doing the bottom and I want to avoid that. I was thinking I could cut the pieces for the bottom and maybe the galley flat since they’re flat and simple then when I’m ready to glass the rest of the shell the top section should be easy to layout. That just leaves the sides, am I right? I’m paranoid that I’m going to lay the sides out wrong and waste my fabric.

Finding a trailer is going to be interesting… I’ve got a couple feelers out to fabricate one, hopefully at a decent price.

abrightwell
    Participant

Reading the manual multiple times is a good idea. I actually got an electronic copy of it from CLC that I started reading immediately. The lead time on my kit was about 4 weeks, so that was plenty of time to get ahead of the game. I simply emailed them mentioning my order, etc and they sent it to me.