Electrical Systems

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    wudboatVT
    Participant

I’m by no means an electrician. Can anyone point me in the direction of some resources on how to install some basics into the camper? I’m also trying to figure out when in the process this is done — during construction but before finishing (paint/varnish, etc)? Here’s what I’m thinking so far:

1. Ability to plug into local campground power 110v when available.
    2. 12v system for typical LED lights, fans, radio, etc…but I’d love to put a 12-volt fridge in the galley or battery box up front.
    3. Ability to charge via solar

I appreciate your help. I’m picking up my kit in Madison in a few weeks at the Canoecopia show.

canadianhoser
    Participant

I’m nearly done with the main construction on my teardrop and I’m getting close to pulling the trigger on my electrical components.  I’m going to go with a 100 AH Li-ION battery as the main power source, but still need to determine whether I’m going to install it in the ICC instead of in the galley, and just use the galley space for the rest of my electrical components.  Along with shore power, I’m going to get a 100 W portable solar panel and relevant components for charging off grid.  I’m going with this so that I can locate the panel in the sunlight but keep the camper out of the mid-day sun.  Does anyone care to share the electrical components they are using and any gotcha’s they learned along the way?

PopeyeTheTrailerMan
    Participant

For timing, I installed my solar power system after the camper was completely done. It already had the complete CLC electrical package installed. The solar panels and circuitry were all new additions, along with the replacement 100 AH LiFePO battery.