Base Storage Boxes

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    colinspeer
    Participant

Hi

Im new to the CLC World and loving this product. I have not built mine yet but am fishing around for ideas before I do so. Although I think that this is a fantastically original and quirky design, personally I feel that the biggest design flaw is the galley and approach to storage. I get the fact that CLC are aiming for a wood boat retro feel but I would love to do something more efficient and perhaps slick in the back. I also see that there is talk of folks are looking to design and instal a 3-4″ deep base box with big sliding drawers.

For both of the above, I would love to see how these have been done by others.

jctownsley
    Participant

Waterlust is building drawers underneath there teardrop. You can follow along on their youtube channel. The most recent build video shows them making the boxes. https://www.youtube.com/user/Waterlust

catcamper
    Participant

Also look at the cabin storage thread a little bit down, seriously, I would pay money for that insert in the cabin! I like the cabin one mainly for the idea that we can do it at a later date when maybe our carpentry skills will be slightly higher than they are now:)

colinspeer
    Participant

Thanks for the tips. I was wondering how the drawers get waterproofed. In the rain they would be attacked by both rain and road splash.

friz
    Participant

I was wondering the same thing. Swirling air behind a vehicle can push water and dust into any gap.

colinspeer
    Participant